The Fifth List of Artist in Residence Announced

Qatar Museums (QM) announced the artists selected for the 2019-2020 season of the Fire Station: Artist in Residence programme. Now in its fifth year, the nine-month long residency, supports local artists, providing them with a platform to develop their creative practice.

Every year, under the visionary guidance of QM Chairperson, Her Excellency Sheikha Al Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, the Artist in Residence programme attracts a large number of portfolio submissions from Qatar based artists. This year, eighteen artists were selected by an esteemed panel of jurors, with disciplines ranging from painting, sculpture, photography, and video to other related media. As part of the programme, this year’s intake of residents will benefit from their own dedicated studio space, the opportunity to collaborate, exchange knowledge, and to enhance their creative progression through mentorship, open studio events, workshops, and access to the building’s facilities. Artists are also given the opportunity to showcase their artworks in a large public exhibition in the Garage Gallery at the Fire Station by the end of their residency.

Fire Station

The new residents were welcomed to the programme by the Fire Station team, where they were given an in-depth introduction to the programme, staff, and a tour of the available facilities.

Sitting at the heart of Qatar’s thriving creative community, the Fire Station: Artist in Residence programme is a highlight of Qatar Museums’ initiatives, which aims to create a platform committed to supporting artists through its residencies, as well as engaging the local communities in Qatar by providing opportunities and events, which include exhibitions and public programs.

The full list of the chosen 18 artists participating in the 2019-2020 Artist in Residence programme is:

Aisha Al-Muhannadi (Qatar)

Amena Al-Yousef (Qatar)

Ameera Al-Aji (Qatar)

Ebtesam Al-Hothi (Qatar)

Hadeer Omar (Egypt)

Haytham Sharrouf (Venezuela)

Hind Al Saad (Qatar)

Jaser Alagha (Australia)

Latifa Al-Kuwari (Qatar)

Majdulin Nasrallah (Jordan)

Maryam Al-Maadhadi (Qatar)

Mariam Rafehi (Germany)

Mashael Al-Hijazi (Qatar)

Maysaa Almumin (Kuwait)

Muna Al-Bader (Qatar)

Naila Al-Thani (Qatar)

Noor Yousef (Qatar)

Suzana Joumaa (Syria)